Athletes in Excellence

The Athletes in Excellence Award from The Foundation for Global Sports Development recognizes exceptional athletes who uphold the values of good sportsmanship and fair play both on and off the field.

We believe in the importance of honoring athletes who use their achievements in sport as a catalyst to inspire positive change. Our athletes in excellence are acknowledged for their outstanding efforts in community outreach, humanitarianism and youth mentorship. As part of the award, recipients will receive a $10,000 grant, enabling them to pursue their passions and create even more positive change.

2017 Athletes in Excellence Award

We are now accepting nominations for the 2017 Athletes in Excellence Award! If you would like to nominate an athlete, please review the guidelines below. The nomination round ends July 14, 2017.

Nomination Guidelines:

Nominee must be at least 18 years of age.

Nominee may be a citizen of any country.

Nomination¬†must include the following: Full Name of Athlete, Athlete’s contact info, including email address and phone number, Description of athlete’s community service, Outline of nominee’s athletic achievements, Photo of athlete, Contact information for person submitting the nomination

Athletes may not nominate themselves.

Individuals OR organizations may submit a nomination.

All nominations must be received by July 14, 2017.

Nominations may be sent to

Athletes will be selected and notified by August 1st. The person or organization who submitted the nomination will also be notified.

Learn about the winners of the 2015 Athletes in Excellence Award.

Learn about the winners of the 2014 Athletes in Excellence Award.